• Apprentice
    25 May 2024, 1:35 p.m.

Dear IWC Forum users,

First of all I'd like to say hello as I just registered here.

I've been quite interested in Watches for years and recently found an old IWC watch deep down in a box, that belonged to my grandfather.

I was able to date the movement to 1952 and the case to 1954. I attached some pictures here.

This brings me to two questions I hope you can help me with:

1. Do you know which model this watch is? I found some old "ingenieur" watches that looked similar but I am not sure if it is an ingenieur, especially as it is not written on the dial.

2. I just read an article about radium being used in these days. I am new to this topic as I haven't touched the area of vintage watches before, so I don't really know how to rate this.

I was wondering if Radium was used on this watch, and if yes on which parts. I was also wondering how the experts in this forum see the topic of radium on such a watch in general. Each and every local watch maker has a different opinion and the majority seems to have no clue at all.

I am not sure how I feel about Radium. I have to admit I felt slightly uncomfortable learning about the radium. I also see this watch as some future family heritage and was thinking about removing the radium, if this is a legit way and possible without tremendous expenses.

I do not want to overthink this topic but I would be thankful for some educated thoughts on this topic.

Thank you and best regards

Ps: I hope the image works

• Graduate
    26 May 2024, 4:16 a.m.